Why is the tardis bigger on the inside?

The TARDIS is dimensionally transcendental, meaning it's bigger on the inside than the outside. The interior exists in a different, relative dimension to the exterior. It has been established that the TARDIS usually changes its exterior appearance on each trip to blend in with its surroundings.