How do you go fishing in minecraft?

Once you craft a fishing rod with 3 string and 2 sticks, go to a pond, river or ocean and cast your lure into the water, splash particle effects will appear and move to the fishing bobber indicating you’re about to have a bite, once the bobber dips under water pull the line back in