What's the definition of tartare?

Tartare is meat or fish served raw and seasoned, often as a patty. Originally from the Mongolian Tartars, whom would put raw sometime spiced meat under their horse saddles before they rode. When they arrived, the meat would have absorbed the spices & horses sweat, have been tenderized & ready to eat