When did the wright brothers create the first airplane?

From History.com: On December 17, 1903 near Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, Orville and Wilbur Wright made the first successful flight in history of a self-propelled, heavier-than-air aircraft. Orville flew the gas-powered, prop-driven biplane, which stayed aloft for 12 seconds and covered 120 feet.