When did the french get their independence?

Bastille Day: French Independence Day. The French Independence Day is Bastille Day, July 14. It's called that because it celebrates the storming of the Bastille during the French Revolution, in 1789. Officially the French Republic, was founded on 21 September 1792 during the French Revolution.