How is moss formed?

Mosses are small flowerless plants that typically form dense green clumps or mats, often in damp or shady locations. Plants are usually composed of simple leaves one cell thick. Mosses do not have seeds but develop sporophytes with unbranched stalks topped with single capsules containing spores.