How do you know if a peach is rupe?

Here are some tips to tell when a peach is ripe and ready to be eaten: It has a sweet smell. It is slightly soft. If the peach is firm to the touch, it's not ready. It is the right color. A ripe peach has a dark yellow color. It is the right shape.