How did the ten gallon hat get its name?

Mexican vaqueros wore braided hatbands called “galóns” on their sombreros. A “10 galón” sombrero was a hat with a large enough crown that it could hold 10 hatbands. American cowboys may have anglicized the word to “gallon”.