How long is wheel of fortune been on?

In 1975 Merv Griffin came up with the idea for a game show based on the simple word game known as Hangman and created Wheel of Fortune. Since then, Wheel of Fortune has aired over 6,000 episodes, making it the longest-running syndicated game show currently on television.