Why are trees brown and green?

Vegetation such as leaves are green because they contain the chemical pigment Chlorophyl which allows for Photosynthesis. The bark of a tree can vary in color, from brown to white, to the very rare rainbow Eucalyptus. One of the chemicals that causes the most common color, brown, is called Tannins.