How many uninhabited islands are there in the world?

There may be up to 2 million uninhabited islands in the world. Many coastal areas around the world consist of innumerable tiny islands, and some 50 to 80 percent of Pacific islands are unpopulated. The vast majority of the world's islands are less than an acre and could not support human life.