What's an op ed piece?

Op Ed derives from the practice of putting commentary or feature articles from non-employees on the page opposite the editorial page in a newspaper. Op for opposite, Ed for editorial. The word, opinion, is tantalizingly applicable but does not have anything to do with the original meaning.