What does the name baker mean?

The origin of the Baker surname is Anglo-Saxon and it came from the English-Scottish border region. Baker is an occupational name, coming from the Old English word 'baecere', which means to dry with heat. Early holders may not have only baked bread, but may also have owned a communal oven.