What's the difference between a sweet potato and a yam?

The skin of the yam looks a bit like tree bark, while the sweet potato is more of a reddish brown. True yams are a completely different root vegetable that is more like yucca in texture and taste. They have a hard brown skin (which looks almost like a tree trunk) with a starchy, not sweet flesh.