What is gorilla dust?

When two male gorillas confront each other, they’re too canny most of the time to actually fight, so they resort to the tried-and-true political tactic of intimidation. It’s a test of testosterone. Soon one becomes convinced that the other could win the threatened physical engagement, and retreats.