Where did the word tank top come from?

From similarity to a tank suit, a one-piece bathing suit worn in the1920s when in a swimming tank (aka swimming pool). Costume was a single-piece, sleeveless garment covering the torso. Wide straps over the shoulders and ending in shorts. Wide-strap top design became a popular summer shirt style.