Why is a penguin a bird?

Penguins are birds (Aves) in that they have feathers, lay eggs and have forelimbs modified as wings, but in this case used for swimming. They also share other characteristics of birds, being warm-blooded (around 40 deg C) and having a reduced reproductive system (one functional ovary or testis).