Why does captain america have a shield?

Captain America's signature star-spangled vibranium shield began as a propaganda tool, but has more practical uses. It can be used as a blunt weapon, thrown like a boomerang, and is nearly indestructible enough to take a tremendous amount of punishment that Captain America himself couldn't.