What types of nuts are tree nuts?

Tree nuts include, but are not limited to, almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, chestnuts, filberts-hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pistachios, shea nuts and walnuts. Tree nut allergies are distinct from peanut allergy, as peanuts are legumes, whereas a tree nut is a hard-shelled nut.