Why are dimes smaller than pennies?

When actual silver was used in coins, dimes had to be about one tenth the size of a silver dollar. Then when pennies and nickels became necessary, non-precious metals were used so that the coins could be manageable sizes. Could you imagine a penny being one tenth the size of a dime?!