What percentage of the world is vegetarian?

Moving on to the rest of the world, the numbers aren't much better — apart from India, a country where religious practices contribute to the number of vegetarians, at about 30 percent. According to the 2014 Meat Atlas of the Friends of the Earth, the worldwide average is about 5 percent.