Who is general george marshall?

George Catlett Marshall Jr. GCB was an American army officer and statesman. He rose through the United States Army to become Chief of Staff under Presidents Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman, then served as Secretary of State and Secretary of Defense under Truman.