How long does it take to demagnetize a magnet?

For some very weak temporary magnets, demagnetization can happen really quickly, within a few minutes. For permanent magnets, it could take a lot longer—a samarium-cobalt magnet, which is a common alloy used for a variety of different applications, would lose its strength in about 700 years.