What is the softball test for fudge?

After you boil the fudge mixture for a while you need to test it. Get a cup of very cold water and drop a small amount of the boiled mixture into the water. Gather that drop of mixture up into a ball. If it retains its shape and is soft to the touch it is right temperature to finish the fudge.