Are caribou reindeer?

Caribou and reindeer are the same species and share the same scientific name, Rangifer tarandus. Caribou are what the species is called in North America and reindeer are what they are called in Eurasia.

---

Caribou & reindeer are the same species with different names depending on location. Caribou live in North America, reindeer in Eurasia. The difference is mainly herd migration. Caribou are famous for massive migrations, one of the longest of any land mammal, but reindeer don’t share that wanderlust.