What's the definition of hyperventilating?

Hyperventilation, also known as over-breathing or excessive breathing, is when a person's breathing speeds up and deepens. Excessive breathing may lead to low levels of carbon dioxide in your blood, which causes many of the symptoms that you may feel if you hyperventilate.