What country does the grand bahamas belong to?

The Bahamas is an independent country that is part of the Commonwealth, having gained its independence from Britain in 1973.

---

The Bahamas is an independent country that is part of the Commonwealth, having gained its independence from Britain in 1973. It was previously part of the British Empire, and before that home to Lucayan communities