How many pieces of sand are on the beach?

Less than the stars in the universe. Seriously, this can only be guessed at as sand creation is a continous process and the presence of sand on a beach is dependent on environmental and manmade factors. Sand is created by erosion, is moved by flowing water and is used by humans in construction.