Why is splitting an atom so powerful?

This energy is released because of an imbalance in the numbers of protons and neutrons in the nucleus, which makes the atom unstable. Releasing energy makes the atom more stable. So, radiation is energy released from unstable atoms in the form of high-energy particles or energy waves.