Where did the expression three sheets to the wind come from?

Top definition. three sheets to the wind. to be explicitly drunk; inebriated. origin: sheets actually refer to the ropes that are used to secure a ship's sail. If the 3 ropes used were loose in the wind, the sail would flop around, causing the ship to wobble around, much like a drunk