What is a bear trap?

A bear trap is a trap used to catch bears. Bear traps consist of two steel jaws, two leaf springs and a trigger in the middle, usually a round pan. When an animal steps onto the trigger, the jaws snap shut on its leg; the animal is unable to escape.