What's m. and m. stand for?

The M's in "M&Ms" stand for Mars and Murrie, the respective founders of the Mars Candy Company and Hershey Chocolate. M&Ms were originally manufactured as a cooperative process between the two, as Mars had the patent to the coating but Hershey controlled the chocolate rations.

---

Mars and Murrie