How strong is obsidian?

Obsidian is rated at 5 to 5.5 on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, with diamond rated at 10, and talc rated at 1. It has very high tensile strength, but is also very brittle due to low compressive strength. These characteristics have made it an ideal material for tool making for over 700000 years.