How do you defeat a witch in minecraft?

In Minecraft, a witch can be killed with any weapon, but the safest way to kill a witch is with a bow, as the range of your bow far exceeds the range of splash potions. Drinking a bucket of milk will remove any negative effects from the witch's potions such as poison or slowness.