How long did wayne gretzky play hockey?

Wayne Gretzky has played hockey since the age of three. He played professional hockey for 21 years between 1979 and 1999, first in the WHA and then in the NHL. During his career he represented Indianapolis Racers, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, St Louis Blues and New York Rangers.