Who are the teenage mutant ninja turtles named after?

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are four teenaged superhero mutant turtles. They were named after Italian Renaissance artists, they were trained by their anthropomorphic rat sensei in the Japanese martial art of ninjutsu.