Does bread stay fresh or in the refrigerator?

Bread stays freshest in the freezer. For short-term storage, room temperature is fine. Over the long term, the crystalline structure of flour will begin to revert to its original form. This happens fastest in the refrigerator, making bread seem dry. This process happens slowest at freezing temps.