What level are diamonds in minecraft?

Diamond can be found anywhere beneath layer 16, but is most common in layers 5-12. Methods for finding the ore generally fall in two categories: either caving or mining. Either way, the player will need an iron, diamond or netherite pickaxe to mine the diamonds