How do you determine the pitch of a roof?

Roof pitch is often expressed in inches of rise per inches of run. For example, a 6 12 pitch is 6 inches vertically or rise for every 12 inches horizontally or run. The pitch can be determined using a level and tape measure. There are free smart phone apps that can let you know the approximate pitch