How long can red eared slider turtles hold their breath?

On average, red eared sliders can hold their breath for up to 30-35 minutes. The amount of time they can hold their breath does depend on the temperature of the water. Red eared sliders can hold their breath a lot longer in cold water because their body requires less oxygen.