How do you know when a cookie is done?

Stick a toothpick in it. If mushy in the middle, really mushy not like a chewy cookie, it probably needs more time cooking

---

This will depend on your desired texture. If you like a softer cookie, I would look for the sheen to be gone and just slight golden around the edge of the cookie. If you prefer a crispy cookie, look for golden color around the edges and onto the top of the cookie.