What is the difference between sauted onions and caramelized onions?

Caramelization is not sauteeing--it's slow cooking over a lower flame until the onions become brown and release sugar, and are slightly transparent. Sauteeing is done over a high heat, sears or browns the outsides, and may not completely cook something inside.