Is there such thing as a pterodactyl?

There's No Such Thing as a Pterodactyl It's unclear at what point "pterodactyl" became the pop-culture synonym for pterosaurs in general—and for Pterodactylus and Pteranodon in particular—but the fact remains that it's this word most people (especially Hollywood screenwriters) prefer to use.