What is monk fruit extract?

Monk Fruit Extract is a sweetener that is 100-250 times sweeter than sugar. It is sometimes used as a sugar substitute and contains zero calories. Monk fruit sweetener is also said to have antioxidant effects. It was approved for use in the United States by the FDA in 2010.