How do squirrels know where they bury their nuts?

Depending on the squirrel species and the type of nut, squirrels are generally able to retrieve up to 95 percent of their buried food. Current research indicates that they are able to do this by relying upon both scent and spatial cues which allow them to build memory maps of their hidden caches.