What happened to marvin gaye senior?

On 9/20/1984, Marvin Gay Sr. pleaded no contest to a charge of voluntary manslaughter for the shooting of his son, singer Marvin Gay. He was given a 6 year suspended sentence, 5 years probation, and prohibited from owning firearms or alcohol for the remainder of his life. He died on 10/10/1998.