What is the difference between flour and bread flour?

Protein content is the answer. Excluding whole wheat flour, bread flour has the highest protein content followed by all purpose, cake, then pastry flour having the least protein content. Protein equals gluten so choose your flour wisely. For example, cakes made with bread flour will be tough.