Is baking soda good for plants?

Baking soda is naturally alkaline. Although it does not lower the acidity of soil as well as lime, which is used for soil in large areas such as lawns, a small amount of baking soda mixed into potting soil can neutralize the soil's acidity that is detrimental to sensitive houseplants.