Can squid change colors?

Most definitely can they change color! To actually control the color of their skin, cephalopods use tiny organs in their skin called chromatophores. A chromatophore is basically a sac filled with pigment. Muscles tug on the sac, spreading it wide to expose the pigment or relax to shrink it.