Who are the phoenicians?

The Phoenicians were the Canaanites of the first millennium B.C.E., descendants of the Canaanites The empire was built on trade. Phoenicians were great maritime people; known for mighty ships, the Phoenician alphabet, the basis for western languages written today, and they gave the Bible its name.